Europe South Asia Asia Pacific Americas Middle East Africa BBC Homepage World Service Education

Front Page



UK Politics







Talking Point

In Depth

On Air

Low Graphics

Thursday, November 18, 1999 Published at 15:14 GMT

Sport: Cricket

Milestone for McGrath against Pakistan

The Aussies celebrate after one of Muller's wickets

Glenn McGrath leapfrogged Richie Benaud in the all-time Australian wicket-taking list, as Pakistan slumped to 222 all out in Hobart.

The home side then responded by making 29 without loss by the close.

Australian captain Steve Waugh won the toss and bowled first, a ploy which worked with only Mohammad Wasim (91) offering serious resistance.

[ image: Moin Khan walks away after scoring just one run]
Moin Khan walks away after scoring just one run
McGrath's immaculate opening spell of two for six from nine overs had Pakistan in trouble at 18 for two.

And just when a fightback was emerging at 120 for three, Mark Waugh took a low one-handed diving catch at second slip to get rid of the dangerous Yousuf Youhana for 17.

"We just found out a little while ago," Mark Waugh said of McGrath's achievement of becoming this country's fourth highest wicket-taker.

But the skipper admitted the team had been so busy dismissing Pakistan they had failed to mark the paceman's milestone.

"We forgot to congratulate him. It's a tremendous effort, he's been a great bowler for Australia at a good strike rate of about four or five wickets a game.

[ image: Azhra Mahmood ducks a McGrath bouncer]
Azhra Mahmood ducks a McGrath bouncer
"I still don't think he's bowling as well as he can but he still doesn't let you down, he's always there at 100 percent and I'm glad we've got him."

With 250 Test wickets only Dennis Lillee (355), Warne (337) and Craig McDermott (291) are above McGrath as leading Australian wicket-takers.

"To pass Richie (Benaud) is quite a big buzz because he is such a big name in the sport," McGrath said.

"I've been getting close to the 250 and it's good to finally reach it."


Australia won toss

Pakistan 1st innings

Saeed Anwar c Warne b McGrath 0
Mohammad Wasim c Gilchrist b Muller 91
Ijaz Ahmed c Slater b McGrath 6
Inzamam-ul-Haq b Muller 12
Yousuf Youhana c M. Waugh b Fleming 17
Azhar Mahmood b Warne 27
Moin Khan c McGrath b Muller 1
Wasim Akram c Gilchrist b Warne 29
Saqlain Mushtaq lbw b Warne 3
Waqar Younis not out 12
Shoaib Akhtar c Gilchrist b Fleming 5

Extras (b10, lb6, w3) 19

Total (all out, 72.5 overs) 222

Fall of wkts: 1-4, 2-18, 3-71, 4-120, 5-148, 6-153, 7-188, 8-198, 9-217, 10-222

Bowling: McGrath 18-8-34-2, Fleming 24.5-7-54-2, Muller 12-0-68-3 (3w), Warne 16-6-45-3, Blewett 2-1-5-0

Australia 1st innings

M.J. Slater not out 16
G.S. Blewett not out 9

Extras (b1, nb3) 4

Total (no wkt, 16 overs) 29

Bowling: Akram 6-2-13-0 (3nb), Akhtar 6-2-9-0, Waqar 3-1-4-0, Saqlain 1-0-2-0

Umpires: Peter Parker (Aus) Peter Willey (Eng)

Advanced options | Search tips

Back to top | BBC News Home | BBC Homepage |

Cricket Contents

In this section

Plucky England hang around

Saqlain stars in Aussie collapse

Solanki breathes life into draw

Headley on the mend

Black player drafted for England match

Worcester keep faith with McGrath

England 'A' battle on

ECB war against racism

New Zealand series 'rigged' - claim

England crank up the pace

Butcher beefs up England total

England 'A' ease to victory

Cricket ticket plan for ethnic minorities

Aussie win welcomes Waugh junior

Caddick takes double honour

Gough returns for tour game

Butcher facing chop

England scramble to a draw

Indians make world record stand

Cricket legend Malcolm Marshall dies

Malcolm Marshall: Scourge of batsmen

At a glance: Marshall tributes

An energetic enthusiast for cricket

Mashud denies England A