BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 23 April, 2003, 18:48 GMT 19:48 UK
Windies fall to Australia
Australia celebrate victory
Australia now cannot be beaten in the Caribbean
Second Test, Trinidad, day five: Australia 576-4 dec & 238-3 dec v West Indies 408 & 288.

Australia have retained the Frank Worrell Trophy with victory by 118 runs in the second Test against the West Indies in Trinidad.

West Indies captain Brian Lara delayed the victory with a swashbuckling century early on, but the home side collapsed once he was out for 122.

Jason Gillespie took the final wicket of Pedro Collins to dismiss the West Indies for 288 and give Australia a 2-0 lead in the four game series.

Australia will clinch the series with victory in the third Test in Barbados, starting on 1 May, but as holder they have already retained the Frank Worrell Trophy as Windies cannot beat them.


Andy Bichel's three wickets soon after tea all but quashed the hosts' dreams of a win.

Lara lost Ramnaresh Sarwan just after lunch when the batsman spooned a weak pull shot off Bichel straight to midwicket for 34.

Sarwan had rode his luck early on after Steve Waugh missed a chance to run him out in the very early stages of the day.

Bichel went on to dismiss Marlon Samuels (1) and debutant David Bernard (4) before Lara himself was caught at slip for 122 after mistiming a drive off Stuart MacGill.

Some weak bowling from the two Australian spinners had allowed Lara to move out of the blocks rapidly in the first session on Wednesday.

One superlative cover drive off Jason Gillespie for four had the crowd on their feet.

But the brilliant left-hander was ruffled in the nervous nineties when Brett Lee produced some fiery short-pitched bowling.

Brian Lara
Lara's century was his fifth as West Indies captain

Lara, however, held firm to reach the 20th Test ton of his career with an on-drive for four off Stuart MacGill before MacGill gained his revenge later on.

History had given West Indies little chance of chasing 407 to win.

Only twice in Test cricket has a team chased 400 or more in the fourth innings to win, and the last was in 1975-76 when India scored 406-4 to triumph in Trinidad.

West Indies: Brian Lara (captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan (vice-captain), Wavell Hinds, Devon Smith, Daren Ganga, Marlon Samuels, Carlton Baugh, Dave Bernard, Vasbert Drakes, Mervyn Dillon, Pedro Collins.

Australia: Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Ricky Ponting (vice-captain), Darren Lehmann, Steve Waugh (captain), Adam Gilchrist (wicket-keeper), Brad Hogg, Andy Bichel, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie, Stuart MacGill.

Links to more WI v Aus 2003 stories


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing
Athletics | Photo Galleries | TV/Radio Listings | Question of Sport | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales
BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport