BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 5 May, 2003, 18:36 GMT 19:36 UK
Aussies complete record victory

Third Test, Bridgetown, day five: Australia 605-9 dec & 8-1 beat West Indies 328 & 284 by nine wickets

MacGill and Gilchrist celebrate the dismissal of Sarwan
MacGill and Gilchrist celebrate the dismissal of Sarwan

Australia became the first team ever to win three consecutive Tests in the Caribbean with a nine-wicket victory over West Indies in Bridgetown.

The tourists took just 15 balls in their second innings to secure the win after bowling the home side out for 284.

The victory is Steve Waugh's 36th as captain, equalling the record held by former West Indies great Clive Lloyd, whose tenure lasted from 1974-85.

Only one other visiting team - Australia in 1954/55 - has won three Tests in a series, and those verdicts were not back-to-back.

Three wickets for Stuart MacGill in the afternoon left the spinner with figures of 5-75 - nine for the match - and Australia needing eight runs.

The floodgates opened shortly after lunch when a limpet-like 61-run sixth-wicket partnership between Omari Banks and Shivnarine Chanderpaul was broken after 26 overs.


Test debutant Banks hit a a composed 32 before pushing at a viciously-spinning delivery from MacGill to be caught at ankle height by Matthew Hayden at first slip.

Chanderpaul edged Jason Gillespie behind at the end of a 140-minute innings that yielded 21, made up entirely of ones and twos.

Vasbert Drakes was bowled behind his front leg by a MacGill delivery that went straight on and kept low and Tino Best found Andy Bichel at midwicket as he looked for a boundary off the spinner.

The Australian juggernaut stalled in trying to dislodge the last wicket pair of Carlton Baugh and Jermain Lawson.

Omari Banks batting against Australia
Banks hit a composed 32 on debut

Waugh dropped a chance off Lawson at slip only to see the number 11 drive MacGill through the covers to even the scores.

Baugh smashed a six over midwicket before he was run out, trying to steal a single to Gillespie at backward point.

And there was more for the crowd to cheer when Lawson trapped Justin Langer lbw first ball.

The wicket brought a hat-trick for Lawson, who had dismissed MacGill and Brett Lee in consecutive balls to end the first innings.

But the celebrations were short-lived as Darren Lehmann, batting in place of fever-hit Ricky Ponting, hit the winning runs.

West Indies went into the final day knowing any hope of a draw rested on overnight batsmen Ramnaresh Sarwan and Brian Lara but both fell to lbw decisions in the first four overs.

Sarwan was unable to add to his 58 as he was given out to the first ball of the morning session.

Indian umpire Srinivas Venkataraghavan raised the finger after a full delivery from MacGill struck the Guyanese batsman on the toe of his left boot.

Lara's demise for 42 followed in the fourth over of the day as he attempted to turn a ball from paceman Andy Bichel towards mid-wicket, but failed to make contact.

Australia: Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Ricky Ponting, Darren Lehmann, Steve Waugh (captain), Adam Gilchrist (wkt), Andrew Bichel, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie, Stuart MacGill, Glenn McGrath

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Devon Smith, Daren Ganga, Brian Lara (capt), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Carlton Baugh (wkt), Vasbert Drakes, Jermaine Lawson, Tino Best, Omari Banks.

Umpires: David Shepherd (Eng), Srinivas Venkataraghaven (Ind)

Links to more WI v Aus 2003 stories



E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing
Athletics | Photo Galleries | TV/Radio Listings | Question of Sport | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales
BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport